Eric Bridgeford
Researcher | Outdoorist | Engineer

About Me

Hey guys, as you probably guessed from the homepage I'm Eric. I'm a 20 year old Junior at Johns Hopkins University and loving every minute.

I am currently studying Biomedical Engineering and Computer Science, with a particular interest in the intersection between neuroscience and computers.

When I'm not holed up in my room studying and doing homework, I can be found playing the guitar, competing with friends in hackathons, hanging out at my fraternity, or enjoying the beauties of nature (which, basically restricts my location to the entire world).

Academic Interests

In the classroom, I focus on developing my skills in mathematics and applying mathematical models to solve biological problems.

For the past two years, I have worked with Dr. Danielle Bassett of the University of Pennsylvania and Dr. Sarah Feldt Muldoon of the SUNY, Buffalo Campus. We are investigating new statistics for quantifying the small world tendencies of networks, with a focus on how this translates to biological systems. Our work thus far is summarized in our paper, here.

For the past year, I have been working with Dr. Joshua Vogelstein of to bring data-driven neuroscience into the scientific spotlight. Big data problems in neuroscience are highly computationally intensive, and require a high level of base knowledge to begin to tackle. The Neurodata team looks to simplify this process, by providing open source access to processing pipelines, all code, and preprocessed outputs. I am currently involved in the data processing segment of the project, investigating the reliability of fMRI (functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging) and DTI (Diffusion Tensor Imaging), two tools that will prove incredibly useful for connectomic research in the upcoming years.

Outside the classroom

Over the course of my life, I've developed an intense passion for music, sports, and the outdoors.

I currently play the electric guitar, and my interests are geared particularly towards late 70s and 80s rock. I like to think I have a favorite band for every mood; whether it's Metallica while working out or the Eagles while hanging out with friends, I can listen to pretty much anything across the spectrum as long as it has some solid guitar work.

In high school, I was an avid athlete, and I have tried to keep that up as much as possible. I am inseparable from my bike on and off campus, and love exploring somewhat precarious trails going at even more precarious speeds (at least I wear a helmet?). Being from Pennsylvania, I have essentially more nature at my disposal than I can possibly cover, so I'm always out hiking in the Poconos or rock climbing.